Carrot Banana Cupcakes (with brown rice flour)

Carrot Banana Muffins

I have been baking so often with almond flour, so I figured I should give another gluten free flour a chance. I wanted to make a fun dessert for my friend’s birthday, so I decided on carrot cake muffins. I wanted a different type of carrot cake, and loved the idea of carrot and banana. I also am a huge fan of carrot cake with cream cheese frosting, so I decided to frost them as well to add to their festivity and taste.

It was a crowded afternoon in the kitchen, because my mom was attempting to make brownies for a gathering that night as well. She ended up burning the dark chocolate, and starting over, so in efforts not to waste what was salvageable of the dark chocolate I incorporated some of it into extra frosting, and it turned out great! I also created chocolate covered strawberries from her mishap, so hey, it was a blessing in disguise.

These were delicious cold on the first and second day, but they got a little dry after a while, so toasting them was a perfect solution. Toasted, they were good with or without the cream cheese frosting. I took pride and confidence in these muffins after my friend who doesn’t usually like healthy desserts, loved them! See, gluten free baking, without refined sugars can still be delicious and nutritious!

Recipe adapted from http://thepalaceat4am.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/gluten-free-carrot-banana-muffins-rating-1010/

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups  brown rice flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp. flax seeds
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp. agave nectar + 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 cup grated carrots

Instructions

1. Mash bananas and combine with eggs, apple cider vinegar, oil, agave nectar.

2. Combine dry ingredients and add to banana mixture.

3. Fold in carrots.

4. Spoon into greased or lined muffin tins.

5. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

Makes about 14 muffins

Icing Recipe:

Blend together with a hand held beater 8 oz. cream cheese and ¼ a cup of maple syrup (more or less depending on how sweet you want it)

Optional: add any fruit or melted chocolate to spice up the frosting!

I also experimented with Elana’s Pantry’s almond flour carrot cupcakes, and added crushed pineapple to them, but I wasn’t as huge of a fan of those ones.

2 thoughts on “Carrot Banana Cupcakes (with brown rice flour)

  1. Yum! I’m glad you liked these–they were a very pleasant surprise! Do you find using coconut oil makes things turn out even better? I’ve never used it before.

  2. I haven’t tried these without coconut oil, so I couldn’t say if it is better, but I have had great success using coconut oil in baking recently!! It has some good health benefits as well so that is another plus.

Leave a Reply

